After the success of last year's North West Comedy Awards, the event as become a regular fixture on Manchester's calendar and this year it's again proving to be one of the highlight events of Manchester Comedy Festival. This years event takes place at the Piccadilly Hotel on Friday 28th October.

Regular readers will remember that last year Designer Magazine interviewed the likes of Bruce Jones, Antony Cotton and Sally Lindsay (better known as Les Battersby, Sean Tully and Shelly from Corrie), Johnny Vegas and Archie Kelly / Steve Edge / Paddy McGuinness from Phoenix Nights amongst others. The event was a tremendous success and as well as celebrating the success of comedians in the North West managed to raise thousands for Nordoff Robbins Music Therapy.

Last night the nominees were announced for this years Awards as follows:

Best Breakthrough in Comedy (sponsored by J W Lees)
Keith Carter; John Warburton; Mike Wilkinson; Die Clatterschenkenfietermaus

Best Stand Up on the North West Circuit (sponsored by Holsten Pils)
John Bishop; Alan Carr; Seymour Mace; Jason Manford

Best Touring Comedy Production/Show
Dave Spikey; Rob Bryden; Mark Thomas; Stewart Lee

Best Comedic Performance on Film and TV
Early Doors (entire cast); Johnny Vegas (Ideal); David Threlfall (Shameless); Steve Edge (Iím with Stupid)

Best Comedic Writing (sponsored by Brabners Chaffe Street)
Craig Cash & Phil Mealey (Early Doors); Unbroadcastable Radioshow; Danny Peake (Iím with Stupid); John Bishop (Happy Families)

Best Comedy Club (sponsored by Argent)
The Comedy Store; Frog & Bucket; Laughter House; XS Malarkey

Best Comedy Content in a Radio Show
Michelle Mullane (Michelle around Midnight); Lee Mack (The Lee Mack Show); Chris Addison (The Ape that got Lucky); John Bishop (Happy Families)

In true noughties style there's one category open to the general public and that's the "Best Comedic Performance In A Soap", which was won last year by Alex Carter (Lee Hunter from Hollyoaks). This year there are 13 nominees including Fiz, Norris and Cilla from Corrie and Bombhead, Lee Hunter and Tony Hutchinson from Hollyoaks amongst others.

Perhaps the most important award of the night is the Les Dennis Services to Comedy Award which was won by Agraman last year for his work promoting the Buzz Club over the past 2 decades. It will be interesting to see whether this year the award goes to a performer or personell behind the scenes this year.

Designer Magazine will be there on the night to capture all the action and we may just find out exactly who Die Clatterschenkenfietermaus is...surely that's question on everyone's lips?

Words: Alex McCann
Live Photos: Shirlaine Forrest

For More Information on the North West Smile Comedy Awards 2005

You can also vote for the Best Comedic Performance In A Soap here as well

Click here to leave your Comedy Awards comments on the Message Board
(NB: The message board opens in a new window so please disable your pop-up blocker to view)